This is the "Find Journal Articles" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology  

This subject guide is designed to serve as a starting point for research in the field of biology, including, but not limited to, anatomy and ecology.
Last Updated: Jul 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mac.edu/biology Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Journals

The Library has current print subscriptions to the following journals:

National Geographic

Science

 

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a item that isn't owned by the MacMurray College Library or another I-Share Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan.  Once you submit a request, the Library will attempt to borrow the item from other libraries that own it. 

Requests don't need to be for school, we are more than happy to try and get copies of books for leisure reading or any DVD movies you want to see. 

This service is free to the MacMurray community, however some lending libraries may charge.  We try and avoid dealing with libraries that charge, but if they are the only option, we will check with you before agreeing to any fees. 

Journal articles are usually sent via e-mail attachment, so most requests are filled within a matter of days.  Books, DVDs, and other physical items take varying amounts of time to come in.  Items shipped from an Illinois library generally arrive within a week, while items from out-of-state libraries come through the mail, so something from Texas will generally take longer than something from Missouri.

  • Did you know that you can place interlibrary loan requests for journal articles in the EBSCOhost databases that aren't available in full-text?  If there isn't a link to a full-text copy of the article you want to read, click on the "Get a Copy of this Article" link, fill out the form, and click "Submit."  Most articles will arrive within a couple of days.

Electronic Journal Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon  Icon
    "The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals."
  • BioMed Central
    A publisher of 207 peer-reviewed open source science, technology, and medical journals.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals
    “Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.” Contains over 300 “Biology and Life Sciences” journals and over 500 “Earth and Environmental Sciences” journals.
  • Google Scholar
    "Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature." It's a mix of citations and full-text articles.
  • GreenFILE  Icon  Icon
    A database from EBSCOhost covering environmental issues. It is a mix full text and non-full text articles.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    A multidisciplinary database that provides access to many scientific journals. The Library only subscribes to a portion of the content available on JSTOR, so only articles with a green checkmark next to the title are available immediately in full text.
  • OmniFILE Full Text Select  Icon  Icon
    A multidisciplinary database from EBSCOhost mixing scholarly and non-scholarly articles, much like Academic Search Premier. The main differences are that it is smaller and all the articles are available immediately in full text.
  • Public Library of Science
    "PLOS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals. The journals vary in their selectivity and contain differing amounts of commentary articles from opinion leaders in a variety of scientific disciplines.The journals are editorially independent."
  • PubMed
    Medical and biomedical database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, includes MEDLINE; some full-text.
  • SpringerOpen
    "Includes Springer’s portfolio of 160+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science ranging from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, our interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines."

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Jake Magnuson
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
call: 217-479-7110
text: 312-772-6806
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip