This is the "Find Journal Articles" page of the "Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education  

This subject guide is designed to serve as a starting point for research in the field of education, including, but not limited to elementary education, secondary education, special education, and Deaf and Hard of Hearing Teacher Education.
Last Updated: Jul 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mac.edu/education Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Journals

The Library has current print subscriptions to the following journals:

AJIDD:  American Journal on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

Elementary School Journal

English Journal

Gifted Child Quarterly

IRC Communicator

Illinois Reading Council Journal

Journal of Deaf Studies & Deaf Education

Language Arts

Mathematics Teacher

School Arts

Teaching Children Mathematics

Teaching History

Online Journals & Magazines

  • English Teaching Forum
    "A quarterly journal published by the U.S. Department of State for teachers of English as a foreign or second language."

Electronic Journal Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon  Icon
    "The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals."
  • Education Research Complete  Icon  Icon
    "The definitive online resource for education research" and "provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs."
  • ERIC  Icon  Icon
    A government database containing "more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966."
  • Google Scholar
    "Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature." It's a mix of citations and full-text articles.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    A full-text multi-disciplinary database that contains numerous full text articles.
  • OmniFile Full Text Select  Icon  Icon
    A multi-disciplinary database indexing approximately 2,700 full-text titles.
  • Professional Development Collection  Icon  Icon
    "Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports."
  • Teacher Reference Center  Icon  Icon
    "Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators."
 

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a item that isn't owned by the MacMurray College Library or another I-Share Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan.  Once you submit a request, the Library will attempt to borrow the item from other libraries that own it. 

Requests don't need to be for school, we are more than happy to try and get copies of books for leisure reading or any DVD movies you want to see. 

This service is free to the MacMurray community, however some lending libraries may charge.  We try and avoid dealing with libraries that charge, but if they are the only option, we will check with you before agreeing to any fees. 

Journal articles are usually sent via e-mail attachment, so most requests are filled within a matter of days.  Books, DVDs, and other physical items take varying amounts of time to come in.  Items shipped from an Illinois library generally arrive within a week, while items from out-of-state libraries come through the mail, so something from Texas will generally take longer than something from Missouri.

  • Did you know that you can place interlibrary loan requests for journal articles in the EBSCOhost databases that aren't available in full-text?  If there isn't a link to a full-text copy of the article you want to read, click on the "Get a Copy of this Article" link, fill out the form, and click "Submit."  Most articles will arrive within a couple of days.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Jake Magnuson
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
call: 217-479-7110
text: 312-772-6806
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip