This is the "Find Journal Articles" page of the "History & Political Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History & Political Science  

This subject guide is designed to serve as a starting point for research in the fields of History and Political Science.
Last Updated: Jul 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mac.edu/history Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Journals

The Library has current print subscriptions to the following journals:

CQ Researcher

Illinois Heritage

Journal of Illinois History

Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society

Living Museum

Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography

Teaching History

Washington Report on Middle Eastern Affairs

Willa Cather Newsletter and Review

Electronic Journal, Magazine, & Newspaper Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon  Icon
    "The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals."
  • Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers  Icon
    "A tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean." From the University of Florida.
  • Chronicling America  Icon
    "A Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program" at the Library of Congress
  • Harpweek  Icon  Icon
    Full text electronic access to issues of Harper's Weekly magazine from 1857 to 1912.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    A full-text general database that contains numerous full text articles.
  • Making of America (Cornell University)  Icon
    A "collaborative effort between Cornell University and the University of Michigan. Drawing on the depth of primary materials within their respective libraries, these two institutions developed a thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."
  • Making of America (University of Michigan)  Icon
    A "collaborative effort between Cornell University and the University of Michigan. Drawing on the depth of primary materials within their respective libraries, these two institutions developed a thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."
  • OmniFile Full Text Select  Icon  Icon
    A multi-disciplinary database indexing approximately 2,700 full-text titles.
 

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a item that isn't owned by the MacMurray College Library or another I-Share Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan.  Once you submit a request, the Library will attempt to borrow the item from other libraries that own it. 

Requests don't need to be for school, we are more than happy to try and get copies of books for leisure reading or any DVD movies you want to see. 

This service is free to the MacMurray community, however some lending libraries may charge.  We try and avoid dealing with libraries that charge, but if they are the only option, we will check with you before agreeing to any fees. 

Journal articles are usually sent via e-mail attachment, so most requests are filled within a matter of days.  Books, DVDs, and other physical items take varying amounts of time to come in.  Items shipped from an Illinois library generally arrive within a week, while items from out-of-state libraries come through the mail, so something from Texas will generally take longer than something from Missouri.

  • Did you know that you can place interlibrary loan requests for journal articles in the EBSCOhost databases that aren't available in full-text?  If there isn't a link to a full-text copy of the article you want to read, click on the "Get a Copy of this Article" link, fill out the form, and click "Submit."  Most articles will arrive within a couple of days.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Jake Magnuson
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
call: 217-479-7110
text: 312-772-6806
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip