This is the "Find Journal Articles" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing   Tags: nursing  

This subject guide is designed to serve as a starting point for research on nursing and other medical topics.
Last Updated: Oct 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mac.edu/nursing-guide Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Journals

The Library has current print subscriptions to the following journals:

Archives of Psychiatric Nursing

CIN:  Computers, Informatics, Nursing

Imprint

Journal of Community Health Nursing

Journal of Pediatric Health Nursing

Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing

Nurse Educator

Nursing Outlook

WJNR:  Western Journal of Nursing Research

The current year can be found in the Periodicals Room.

Electronic Journal Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon  Icon
    "The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals."
  • BioMed Central
    A publisher of 207 peer-reviewed open source science, technology, and medical journals.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  Icon  Icon
    A database providing full text of more than 770 nursing and health journals.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals
    A directory of free, open access scholarly journals, including more than 1,000 in the health sciences field.
  • Google Scholar
    "Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature." It's a mix of citations and full-text articles.
  • Health Source-Nursing/Academic Edition  Icon  Icon
    A database providing nearly 550 full text journals in the medical field. It also "features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide , which cover 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names."
  • MEDLINE  Icon
    A database indexing over 19,000 medical sources. It is mostly citations, but has links to some full-text articles.
  • Nursing Center
    A database offering free full-text nursing journals. Note that not all the content on the site is available in full-text, or for free.
  • OmniFile Full Text Select  Icon  Icon
    A multi-disciplinary database indexing approximately 2,700 full-text titles.
  • PubMed
    "Comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites."
 

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a item that isn't owned by the MacMurray College Library or another I-Share Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan.  Once you submit a request, the Library will attempt to borrow the item from other libraries that own it. 

Requests don't need to be for school, we are more than happy to try and get copies of books for leisure reading or any DVD movies you want to see. 

This service is free to the MacMurray community, however some lending libraries may charge.  We try and avoid dealing with libraries that charge, but if they are the only option, we will check with you before agreeing to any fees. 

Journal articles are usually sent via e-mail attachment, so most requests are filled within a matter of days.  Books, DVDs, and other physical items take varying amounts of time to come in.  Items shipped from an Illinois library generally arrive within a week, while items from out-of-state libraries come through the mail, so something from Texas will generally take longer than something from Missouri.

  • Did you know that you can place interlibrary loan requests for journal articles in the EBSCOhost databases that aren't available in full-text?  If there isn't a link to a full-text copy of the article you want to read, click on the "Get a Copy of this Article" link, fill out the form, and click "Submit."  Most articles will arrive within a couple of days.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Jake Magnuson
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
call: 217-479-7110
text: 312-772-6806
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip