This is the "Find Journal Articles" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

This subject guide is designed to serve as a starting point for research on subjects within the field of psychology.
Last Updated: Sep 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mac.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a item that isn't owned by the MacMurray College Library or another I-Share Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan.  Once you submit a request, the Library will attempt to borrow the item from other libraries that own it. 

Requests don't need to be for school, we are more than happy to try and get copies of books for leisure reading or any DVD movies you want to see. 

This service is free to the MacMurray community, however some lending libraries may charge.  We try and avoid dealing with libraries that charge, but if they are the only option, we will check with you before agreeing to any fees. 

Journal articles are usually sent via e-mail attachment, so most requests are filled within a matter of days.  Books, DVDs, and other physical items take varying amounts of time to come in.  Items shipped from an Illinois library generally arrive within a week, while items from out-of-state libraries come through the mail, so something from Texas will generally take longer than something from Missouri.

  • Did you know that you can place interlibrary loan requests for journal articles in the EBSCOhost databases that aren't available in full-text?  If there isn't a link to a full-text copy of the article you want to read, click on the "Get a Copy of this Article" link, fill out the form, and click "Submit."  Most articles will arrive within a couple of days.

Electronic Journal Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon  Icon
    "The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals."
  • Google Scholar
    "Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature." It's a mix of citations and full-text articles.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    A multidisciplinary database that provides access to many scholarly journals. The Library only subscribes to a portion of the content available on JSTOR, so only articles with a green checkmark next to the title are available immediately in full text.
  • OmniFile Full Text Select  Icon  Icon
    A multidisciplinary database from EBSCOhost mixing scholarly and non-scholarly articles, much like Academic Search Premier. The main differences are that it is smaller and all the articles are available immediately in full text.
  • PsycARTICLES  Icon  Icon
    "A definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1."
  • PsycINFO  Icon  Icon
    "American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Jake Magnuson
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
call: 217-479-7110
text: 312-772-6806
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip